Important dates

January 26, 2024
February 2, 2024 – NEW
Extended abstract submission deadline

February 2, 2024
Workshop proposals due

March 15, 2024
Author notification

April 26, 2024
Final version submission deadline

April 26, 2024
Early registration deadline for authors

July 3-5, 2024
Conference dates

Francisco Beltrán

Francisco Beltrán is an Industrial and Mechanical Engineer from Universidad de la República in Uruguay, boasting over a decade of diverse experience in industry and academia within the energy sector. Holding a Master of Science Degree in Sustainable Energy Engineering from KTH Royal Institute of Technology in Sweden, he is currently pursuing a PhD in solar photovoltaic-thermal technology and heat pumps at the same institution.

Francisco also teaches in various master-level courses at KTH, such as Energy Management, Solar Energy Systems for Buildings and Cities, and Energy Supply Systems for Buildings.

Additionally, Francisco assumes leadership roles, presiding over the Swedish Student branch of ASHRAE, chairing Uruguay’s National Future Energy Leaders Program, and being a board member of the NGO EcoReset Association.

His contributions have been recognized globally, being selected as a Congress Future Energy Leader by the World Energy Council in 2023. Francisco has also engaged as a speaker at prestigious international conferences like the Solar World Congress in Delhi in 2023 and the International Energy Agency’s Heat Pump Conference in Chicago in 2023, among others.

Edward S.Rubin

Edward S. Rubin is the Alumni Chair Professor of Environmental Engineering and Science Emeritus at Carnegie Mellon University. He holds joint appointments as professor emeritus in the departments of Engineering & Public Policy and Mechanical Engineering, and is a Senior Fellow at the Wilton E. Scott Institute for Energy Innovation.  His research addresses technical, economic and policy issues related to energy and the environment, with a focus on climate change mitigation, sustainability, and the drivers of technology innovation for clean energy systems.

In 2007, Dr. Rubin shared in the Nobel Peace Prize awarded to the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC). Among other awards, his work also has been recognized by the AWMA Lyman A. Ripperton Award for distinguished achievements as an educator, the ASME Dixy Lee Ray Award for outstanding achievement in environmental protection, and the Greenman Award of the International Energy Agency Greenhouse Gas R&D Programme.

In addition to his teaching and research, Prof. Rubin has served on committees and boards of the U.S. National Academies, and as an advisor to government agencies, companies, and non-governmental organizations in the U.S., Canada, and Europe.

Débora Domingo-Calabuig 

Débora Domingo-Calabuig is an architect PhD and professor at the Universitat Politècnica de València (UPV).

Her interests include the methods, means, and impact of architectural research and social consideration in architecture and urban design.

Currently, she holds the position of Vice-rector for Sustainable Development of Campus at UPV. She is responsible for planning and launching the university’s ecological transition project to achieve carbon neutrality, adapting the actions of the university space to sustainability criteria, and disseminating a culture of environmental awareness.

Nuria Matarredona Desantes

Nuria Matarredona Desantes, PhD architect. Docent and researcher. Expert on architectural heritage preservation and community development.

She is mainly interested in collaborative design and innovative solutions to enhance the places where we live in. Her professional interest is aimed at promoting innovation as a catalyst for quality of architecture.

During recent years she has promoted knowledge transfer to public architecture policies from her responsibilities as General Director of ecological innovation in construction of the Generalitat Valenciana (Regional Government of Valencia) and General Director of architecture and urban agenda of the Government of Spain.

Currently, she is developing her mission as a professor at the Universitat Politècncia de València.

Davide Roletto

Davide Roletto is a young Industrial Energy Engineer with a European academic background. Obtained a bachelor’s degree in Energy Engineering from the Politecnico di Milano in Italy, Davide moved to the Czech Republic to pursue a master’s degree in Industrial Process Engineering at CTU Czech Technical University. At CTU, his studies also covered renewable energies and Carbon Capture Utilization (CCU) through microalgae bio-growth.

Following a short experience at Skoda Auto’s headquarters, Davide returned to Milan to begin his professional career. He currently works as an energy designer for industrial and civil HVAC systems, focusing on integrating industrial process streams into energy models to minimize energy waste. As part of his role, Davide conducts energy audits and technical-economic feasibility studies to identify inefficiencies and addressing environmental impacts, including carbon footprint evaluations to promote energy-efficient solutions and to rely on renewable energies.

Eugenio Domínguez Amarillo

Eugenio Domínguez Amarillo, born in 1976, studied telecommunications engineering at the University of Seville. In 1999 he joined the Electronic Technology Group of the University of Seville, starting to work on industrial R+D projects. From 2005 to 2008, he was the director of this group’s R+D power electronics and renewable energies laboratory, being the technical person responsible for several projects. As a researcher, he has collaborated with and directed more than 60 research and development projects for companies and public bodies, having published more than 25 high-impact national and international articles. In addition, he has combined his training with two advanced business programs, the Business Management Program of San Telmo Business School and the Management Growth Program of ESADE and IESE.

He is the author of 10 national and international patents focused on integrating energy storage technologies.

In 2008, he founded Win Inertia and was its CEO/CTO until 2016. At Win Inertia, he developed the concept of Hybrid Energy Storage with his technical team, which is the basis for HESStec’s future development. In 2018, he founded HESStec with the technical team of Win Inertia, and he is currently the leading technology company in developing new energy storage solutions in electricity grids that are technically viable and economically sustainable, a key element for the energy transition. Eugenio leads the company’s strategy, institutional relations, and technological development.

As a natural-born entrepreneur, he has been the promoter of 5 other business initiatives, providing his experience in the control of high-performance systems, applied to different fields such as energy, defense, or biotechnology, as well as his clear vision of market trends.

At an institutional level, he is Vice President of AEPIBAL (Spanish Association of Batteries and Energy Storage), a sectoral association that brings together more than 200 companies and institutions within the entire storage value chain. He is also a member or president of different working groups of CNMC, REE, MITECO, UNE, and EC, both technical and regulatory, in reference to the energy transition and the role of storage, both nationally and at the European level.